European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2016

Publish Date: Aug 05, 2016

Deadline: Oct 01, 2016


The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage was launched in 2002 by the European Commission as part of the implementation of the Culture Programme, which has now been succeeded by the Creative Europe Programme. Europa Nostra, the Voice of Cultural Heritage in Europe, was reappointed in 2014 to run this awards scheme on the basis of its long experience in publicly recognising individual or joint excellence in the field of cultural heritage at a European level.
The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards is granted annually to identify and promote best practices in the conservation of tangible and intangible cultural heritage, to stimulate the trans- frontier exchanges of knowledge and experience throughout Europe, to enhance public awareness and appreciation of Europe's cultural heritage, and to encourage further excellent initiatives through the power of example.

Outstanding heritage achievements will be awarded in the following categories:

● Conservation
● Research
● Dedicated service by individuals or organisations
● Education, training and awareness-raising

Criteria for the assessment of entries include excellence in the work executed and preliminary research conducted, as well as respect for artistic, cultural and social value, setting, authenticity and integrity. Special attention will also be paid to sustainability, interpretation and presentation, educational work, funding and management, social responsibility, and audience development. Entries can be on a scale ranging from small to large, local to international, and should display a standard of work considered outstanding in a European context.

The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards will honour every year up to 30 outstanding heritage achievements from all parts of Europe. The number of awards every year will depend on the type and quality of entries received.
Up to seven projects will be selected as Grand Prix winners and one will receive the Public Choice Award through an online vote conducted via the Europa Nostra website.

Closing date: 1 October 2016


Select the most appropriate category and submit one entry form only per project or field of work. The same project may be submitted in one category only.
If you are not sure which category is the most appropriate for your project, please contact Mrs. Elena Bianchi, Programmes Coordinator at or +31 70 302 40 58.

● Architectural heritage: single buildings or groups of buildings in a rural or urban setting
● Building additions or alterations, or new building projects within historic areas
● Industrial and engineering structures and sites
● Cultural landscapes: historic urban environments or townscapes, city or town squares and
● Historic parks and gardens, larger areas of designed landscape or of cultural, environmental and/or
agricultural significance
● Archaeological sites, including underwater archaeology
● Works of art and collections: collections of artistic and historic significance or old works of art
● Intangible cultural heritage1
● Digitisation projects of cultural heritage2


Outstanding achievements in the conservation, enhancement and adaptation to new uses, of cultural heritage in any of the above-mentioned areas.

● Projects should have involved restoration or conservation of a structure or site, its adaptation to new uses, building additions or alterations, or new design in conservation areas
● The building / site / work(s) of art must be accessible to the public. Buildings or sites that are regularly used by large numbers of people, for instance schools or office premises, are considered accessible; private buildings or sites that are regularly open to visitors are considered accessible
● The projects may include an interpretative display for cultural or educational purposes
● Completed phases of large-scale projects are eligible. Entrants should state in the description how the phase relates to the project as a whole, and indicate the overall project’s expected completion
● The projects must have been completed within the past three years: September 2013 - September 2016

Who may submit an entry?

Countries eligible for the EU Prize:

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, FYROM, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey and United Kingdom.

You can still apply for a Europa Nostra Award if your country is not on the list of eligible countries.

Countries eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards only:
Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, the Holy See, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Monaco, the Russian Federation, San Marino, Switzerland and Ukraine.

Entry Dossiers

● Entrants should complete and submit the entry form and make sure all required documentation is included. Please follow carefully the "Dossier requirements" for the appropriate category when preparing your dossier. Non-compliance will result to the elimination of the entry and will not be submitted to the jury
● Dossiers must be submitted in English or French only
● Entry forms must be typed (hand-written applications will not be accepted)
● Entry forms may not be submitted in capital letters
● All parts of the entry form should be filled in
● Receipt of the entry dossier will be acknowledged by the Europa Nostra International Secretariat by
email only
● Dossiers will not be returned, but instead will be filed in the Europa Nostra archives

Selection Procedures

● All entries will be assessed by a local expert prior to the jury meeting. Assessors will submit their assessment report to the juries
● The award-winning entries will be selected by a European jury of independent experts appointed by the Europa Nostra Board
● The seven Grand Prix laureates will be selected by the Europa Nostra Board in close consultation with the chairpersons of the four juries
● Entrants will be informed of the decision of the jury via e-mail by March 2017. The decisions of the jury are final and correspondence may not be entered into regarding the decision of the jury and feedback on the project
● Representatives of all winning entries will be invited to attend the European Heritage Awards Ceremony where they will be presented with their awards


● All winning entries will receive an award certificate as well as a wall plaque or a trophy
● In addition, winners of a Grand Prix will receive a monetary award of € 10.000


To apply go to "Further official information" link below and fill the application form. 

For more information click "Further official information" below. 

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


Cultural Studies


Heritage Studies

Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries