Elizabeth R. Raphael Founder’s Prize 2017, USA

Publish Date: May 25, 2017

Deadline: Jun 09, 2017

2017 Elizabeth R. Raphael Founder’s Prize Award and Exhibition

In celebration of its 25th anniversary in 1997, Contemporary Craft established a $5,000 prize for excellence in the field of contemporary craft.

This biennial award, which is given in conjunction with a catalogue, video profile and juried exhibition, is funded by the daughters of Elizabeth R. Raphael, the founder of Contemporary Craft and a nationally known figure in the contemporary art scene for many decades. Prizes are selected by medium, with the designated medium changing with each biennial award.

Past winners and winning artworks include Sibylle Peretti, Vogelkuss-Birdkiss II (glass), 1997; David Sengel, Haloed (wood), 1999; Suzan Rezac, Opus Tessellatum (small metals), 2001; Sun Koo Yuh, The Memory of Pikesville, TN (clay), 2003; Jim Rose, Quilt Cupboard (found materials), 2005; Mark Zirpel, Pair (glass), 2007; Christian Burchard, Days of Summer by the Pond (wood), 2009; Meghan Patrice Riley, Interstitial (metal), 2011 and Linda Swanson, Cypreus Lumen (clay), 2013.

The 2017 prize will be awarded for a work in found materials. Previous Raphael Prize videos may be viewed


• Call for Artists begins January 6, 2017

• Deadline for receipt of application June 9, 2017

• Notification of Finalists August 5, 2017

• Deadline for Finalists’ submissions July 13, 2018

• Notification of prize winners August 3, 2018

• Exhibition opening September 14, 2018

• Exhibition closes March 9, 2019

• Travel schedule begins April 2019


The 2017 Elizabeth R. Raphael Founder’s Prize competition is open to all artists working in found materials. Emerging artists are especially encouraged to apply.


The prize will be awarded to a work created between January 2017 and January 2018 that addresses the theme of “transformation.”


Jurying will take place in two phases. From the initial submissions, a group of finalists will be invited to submit a work on the selected theme for the final jurying and inclusion in the Raphael Prize exhibition. Only one work per artist may be provided for final jurying. Artists are eligible to include work made within one year of submission.


Finalists will be notified by August 5, 2017 of their selection for inclusion in the Raphael Prize exhibition and catalogue. The prize-winning entry will be chosen from among the works submitted by these finalists for the second round of jurying, and the winner will be announced at the exhibition opening. All works must be for sale. Finalists must be prepared to submit five or six additional pieces for the exhibition if they are selected as the Raphael Prize winner. (Note: Acceptance of a work based solely on the jurors’ viewing of images does not guarantee inclusion. The jurors reserve the right to exclude a submission when viewing actual work. Works selected for the show are expected to travel for up to two years with the exhibition.)


A six-member panel will select finalists from the initial submissions, and also select the prize-winning entry. Jurors will include: Susie Ganch, head of the Metal Program for the Department of Craft and Material Studies at Virginia Commonwealth University and director of Radical Jewelry Makeover; Fabio J. Fernández, executive director at The Society of Arts and Crafts in Boston, Massachusetts; Alexandra Raphael, enameller, London, England; Catherine Raphael, metalsmith and storyteller, Pittsburgh, PA; Janet McCall, executive director and Kate Lydon, director of exhibitions, Contemporary Craft, Pittsburgh, PA.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities



Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United States