Abbott Lowell Cummings Book Prize

Publish Date: Nov 03, 2015

Deadline: Dec 15, 2015

The Abbott Lowell Cummings Prize, named after the founding president of the Vernacular Architecture Forum, is awarded annually to the publication that has made the most significant contribution to the study of vernacular architecture and cultural landscapes. In judging the nominated books, the jurors look for a publication that is: 

- based on primary research,

- emphasizes fieldwork,

- breaks new ground in interpretation or methodology, and

- contributes generally to the intellectual vitality of vernacular studies in North America

Entries may come from any discipline concerned with vernacular architecture studies. Books published from Jan. 2014 through December 2015 are eligible for consideration. Edited collections of previously published materials are not eligible.

The nomination deadline for the 2016 Cummings Prize is December 15, 2015.

There is no application form, but a cover letter should include a complete mailing address, phone number and email address in order to notify the candidate should the nominated work receive the award.

Books should be sent directly by the author or publisher to each of the three committee members for the Cummings Prize. Please contact the committee chair with any questions at

2016 Cummings Prize committee:

Jennifer Reut, Chair
429 Ethan Allen Avenue
Takoma Park, MD 20912

Prof. Thomas Hubka
7339 SE 31st Ave.
Portland, OR 97202

Janet Ore
History Department
Campus Delivery 1776
Colorado State University
Ft. Collins, CO 80523-1776

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities




Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries