Artist in Residence Program 2022/2023 Institute for Advanced Study at Central European University, Austria

Publish Date: Jun 06, 2021

Deadline: Jul 05, 2021

Artist in Residence Program 2022/2023 Institute for Advanced Study at Central European University

The Institute for Advanced Study at CEU (IAS CEU) invites applications for its Artist in Residence Program for the academic year 2022/2023. Since 2015, the Artist in Residence Program defines one of the Institute’s core programs and is integral part of its activities. Whereas in some years an annual theme framed the program, the 2022/23 fellowship offers an open call.

IAS CEU offers annually one Writer in Residence fellowship and one Visual/New Media Artist in Residence fellowship to provide selected artists with opportunities to conceptualize and create new works while providing the fellow community with opportunities for meaningful interaction with artists working in various fields. These two residential fellowships (up to 5 months each with a minimum stay of 3 months) are offered on a competitive basis to internationally established as well as emerging artists, in creative writing (from poetry and prose to drama, screen and playwriting) and in the visual arts, including new media art (from painting to filming and from digital art to computer graphics to interactive art).

We seek artists who will be able to work independently, have a solid plan of work for their fellowship period and are ready to engage with the intellectual life at the Institute and the university. Artists in residence are expected to participate in the academic life of the community of IAS Fellows, which includes participation in the weekly Fellows’ seminar and a presentation of their own artistic or literary work.

To be in residence at IAS CEU means to work and participate in an academic community, to receive technical and artistic assistance and to be immersed in a vibrant city's cultural life. While in residence, artists benefit from an intense production time enhanced by the exchange of ideas and experiences with fellows of the Institute. The Institute views art and scholarship as complementary rather than separate activities, which interact dynamically and encourage mutual productivity. ARTIST IN RESIDENCE FELLOWSHIP 2022/2023 2 of 4 IAS CEU is an independent Institute for Advanced Study. It is based at the Budapest Campus of Central European University. As of the Academic Year 2019/20 CEU is operating at two locations, the main university at the Vienna Campus and some institutes and centers at the Budapest Campus. Hosting its programs at the latter campus and in one of Central Europe's attractive cities, IAS CEU seeks to benefit from this new arrangement and to be part of the rich academic life and research generated in both places - from its premises in Budapest, as independent and yet integral part of the university and its location right in the center of city. While CEU was forced to move its accredited degree programs from Hungary to its new campus in Vienna, the Budapest Campus hosts, apart from the IAS, the bi-campus library, the Open Society Archive (OSA), the Summer School Network (SUN), a number of research centres and projects and, since September 2020, CEU’s new Democracy Institute. 

Fellowships include

A net allowance of EUR 2,000 per month + accommodation at the Raoul Wallenberg Guesthouse and/or office space at IAS CEU premises as available, either of which may serve as a studio", limited equipment and technical support from the CEU Media Lab and some research support in the range of EUR 500 - 1,000. We encourage all applicants for the visual artist fellowship to inquire about existing facilities and technology available. Awarded fellows are responsible for their own travel arrangements and health insurance. Fellowships may start in October 2022. Fellows are required to be in continuous residence for the duration of the fellowship.  

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

Further Official Information

Link to Original

Similar Opportunities


Art History



Eligible Countries


Host Countries