International Literacy Prizes 2020, UNESCO, France


June 01, 2020


Opportunity Cover Image - International Literacy Prizes 2020, UNESCO, France

International Literacy Prizes

 2020 thematic focus: "Teaching and learning literacy: The role of educators and changing pedagogies".

Since 1967, UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. Over 485 projects and programmes undertaken by governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world have been recognized. Through these prestigious Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.

Currently there are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards)

Established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards)

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the People’s Republic of China. It gives special consideration to literacy amongst adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.

Each of the five prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.

Selection criteria for the International Literacy Prizes

Relevance to the themes

The programme/project is pertinent to the areas focused by the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes and the specific theme of this year.

Relevance to individuals and societal needs and robustness

The programme/project is relevant to the individual and societal needs in a given context.
The programme/project is robust and effective in its design, delivery, structure, management, monitoring and evaluation.

Quality of teaching and learning

The quality of teaching and learning involves interrelated dimensions such as the effectiveness, the efficiency, the equality, the relevance and the pertinence .


The ‘impact’ relates to both positive and negative changes made by a programme/project, to beneficiaries, communities and broader societies. Changes include both intended and unintended ones demonstrated by qualitative and/or quantitative evidence.

Innovative features

The Innovative features are concerned with new/original ideas, solutions, approaches, methods, devices and perspectives or new ways of adapting traditional ones which can adds value and make a concrete impact.


Sustainability is regarding lasting benefits and impacts of a programme/project beyond the lifecycle of the current programme/project.
This may involve the concrete activities of a programme/project designed to ensure sustainability of its results and impacts, the contributions to enriching literate environments in which learners can acquire, use, sustain, and advance literacy skills and the availability of future plan.

In addition to these criteria, the project/programme should:

  • be ongoing and proven record of innovative work in the field of literacy for at least three years.
  • have not been awarded the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes in the past five years.
  • promote literacy through effective and innovative projects or programmes.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.


Eligible Countries
Host Country
Study Levels
Publish Date
May 17, 2020
Link To Original