UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development 2019, France

Publish Date: Feb 04, 2019

Deadline: Apr 30, 2019

UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development

The UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) honours outstanding projects by individuals, institutions and organizations related to ESD.

The call for nominations for the fifth edition of the UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) is now open. The Prize annually rewards three outstanding projects and programmes promoting ESD with USD 50,000 each.

Governments of all Member States, as well as non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO, are invited to nominate up to three individuals, institutions or organizations engaged in ESD for the 2019 edition.

Nominations must be written in English or French and need to focus on a specific ESD project or programme of the nominee. They will be assessed by an independent jury of five international experts on the basis of their potential for transformation, integration and innovation. Projects must have been running for at least four years, already show evidence of a high impact, be easily replicable and scalable and contribute to one or more of the five Priority Action Areas of the Global Action Programme on ESD (GAP) as well as to the Sustainable Development Goals. Self-nominations are not accepted. Interested candidates are advised to contact the National Commission for UNESCO in their country or an NGO in official partnership with UNESCO.

The deadline for submission is 30 April 2019 (midnight, Paris time). Nominations must be submitted at this link, only accessible to the UNESCO Member States and NGOs in official partnership. User guides for the online nomination platform as well as replies to Frequently Asked Questions can be found on the Prize website.

The UNESCO-Japan Prize was established in 2014 in the framework of the GAP and is generously funded by the Government of Japan. This year’s winners will be announced by the Director-General of UNESCO in September. In addition to receiving the monetary award at an official ceremony in Paris, all winners will be invited to join the Partner Networks of the Global Action Programme on ESD.

Selection Criteria 

The three Prize winners are selected by the Director-General of UNESCO on the basis of recommendations made by an international independent Jury consisting of five experts. 

The project/programme of the nominee are assessed by the Jury on the basis of the following criteria:

A) Transformation:

The project/programme practices Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) as transformative education in support of sustainable development, leading to individual and social change. 

ESD is transformative education in that it empowers learners to transform themselves and the society they live in. The nominated project/programme should, therefore, enable learners to bring about changes for a more just, peaceful and sustainable world. This can mean, for example, taking action against climate change, changing one’s consumption patterns, developing social entrepreneurship and sustainable livelihoods, or supporting those struggling against poverty.

B) Integration:

The project/programme addresses the three dimensions of sustainable development (society, economy, environment) in an integrated way.

Sustainable development calls for the integration of the social, economic and environmental dimensions of development. The nominated project/programme should be in line with this definition of sustainable development. It should address the three dimensions (society, economy, environment), and help learners understand the interdependence between them and act accordingly.

C) Innovation:

The project/programme demonstrates an innovative approach to ESD. 

Sustainable development requires going beyond ‘business as usual’ and ‘out-of-the-box’ thinking. The nominated project/programme should demonstrate an innovative approach to ESD, be it in the themes it covers, the methodology it employs, or the way the learning environment is designed. Reaching out to sectors beyond education and working with new partners can also be a sign of innovation. 

  • In addition to these three criteria, the project/programme should:
  • be ongoing and have been running for at least four years
  • have a high impact relative to the invested resources
  • be replicable and scalable
  • contribute to one or more of the five Priority Action Areas of the GAP.

Who can be nominated?

Individuals, institutions, organizations or other entities engaged in Education for Sustainable Development (ESD). Nominations must focus on a specific ESD project or programme of the nominee, meeting the eligibility criteria.

Who can submit nominations?

Nominations can be submitted to the Director-General of UNESCO by Governments of Member States via their Permanent Delegation to UNESCO, and by Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO. Each Permanent Delegation or NGO can make up to three nominations for any edition of the Prize. Self-nominations are not accepted. 

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities


Development Studies


Opportunity Types



Eligible Countries


Host Countries