Marilynn Thoma Fellowship in Spanish Colonial Art 2018


October 15, 2018


Opportunity Cover Image - Marilynn Thoma Fellowship in Spanish Colonial Art 2018

Marilynn Thoma Fellowship in Spanish Colonial Art

Deadline: October 15, 2018

The Carl and Marilynn Thoma Art Foundation offers several fellowships annually in support of projects and research initiatives that will advance the field of Spanish colonial art. Fellowships range in duration from one to two years. Pre-doctoral and post-doctoral candidates are equally encouraged to apply, as are exceptionally accomplished international scholars holding only an MA. Scholars may come from any discipline, but all projects must relate to the study of art and art history.

National and international scholars, researchers and museum professionals should propose projects that exhibit original scholarship and/or will make a significant contribution to the understanding of colonial Spanish American art and its history. Projects will be considered from all of Spanish colonial Latin America and the Caribbean, however the Foundation will give strong preference to projects that make specific contributions to the history of painting and sculpture in colonial South America.

Further, all applications that do not directly focus on South America must demonstrate how the project relates to the art history of South America. Projects that focus exclusively on decorative arts, maps or manuscripts are not eligible to apply.

The project should be related to a major measurable outcome such as a museum exhibition, dissertation, book manuscript, essay, lecture series, article for a scholarly journal, etc.

Fellowships are portable and funds may be used in any reasonable way the applicant sees fit to accomplish the project, examples include: travel and accommodation, photography, access fees, tuition remission, supportive staffing, scientific analysis.

Applicants must have the ability to communicate and conduct research in both Spanish and English.

Fellows will be selected by a jury of three accomplished professionals in the field.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

Eligible Countries
Publish Date
August 13, 2018
Link To Original