The Data Journalism Awards

Publish Date: Jan 05, 2016

Deadline: Apr 10, 2016

The Data Journalism Awards are the first international awards recognising outstanding work in the field of data journalism worldwide.

Launched in 2012, it is organised by the Global Editors Network, with support from the Google News Lab and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation. Previous winning organisations include The New York Times, The Guardian, ProPublica and La Nación.

The prizes for the DJA 2016 are worth 1,000€ each and will be awarded at a special ceremony at the Vienna City Hall during the sixth annual GEN Summit on 16 June 2016.

Simon Rogers, Data Editor at Google, will be the DJA Director for this year's competition which will take place under the presidency of Paul Steiger, Executive Chairman of ProPublica's board of directors. Hear from both of them on what to expect from this year's competition in this interview.

Who is eligible for prizes?

The Data Journalism Awards rewards outstanding work in the field of data journalism in any media worldwide. They reward examples of data-driven investigations, data-driven applications and storytelling with data visualisation, which cover matters relevant to society and aim to have an impact at a societal level.

  • Media companies, non-profit organisations and freelancers or individuals are all eligible for the Data Journalism Awards.
  • Works produced by individuals or teams of staffers from media companies and non-profit organisations, as well as freelancers or individuals are all eligible for entry.
  • Works that are the result of a collaboration between organisations may also be submitted.
  • Those works produced by staffers or freelancers collaborating with government agencies, business or trade organisations with a stake (financial or of other nature) in the issue at hand are not eligible.
  • Works that include significant input from the members of the jury will not be accepted for entry into the competition.

The DJA administrators have the final authority to determine whether an entry is eligible or not.

Submit a Project Now

Competition Rules

Entries may be submitted between 17 December 2015 and 10 April 2016. 

The deadline for entries is 10 April 2016 at 23:59 GMT.

All work must have been published or aired between 10 April 2015 and 4 April 2016.

The finalists shortlisted for awards will be announced during the first week of May 2016, and the winning projects will be revealed at the DJA 2016 Ceremony in Vienna on 16 June 2016, during the sixth annual GEN Summit.

All submissions must be in English. Entries in languages other than English will be accepted provided that they are accompanied by translations of the work. Words included in graphics, databases and applications must also be translated. Radio material must be transcribed in English and video material must contain English subtitles. If a work originally published in a language other than English passes the pre-jury selection stage, applicants may be asked to provide additional information and translations.

Entries are allowed to have been published on any other media platform: online, radio, audio, broadcast, print or a combination of platforms.

Entries are allowed to be an individual work or a series of works.

There is no limit to the amount of entries that can be submitted by one applicant. During the pre-selection, the jury will choose which category is most adequate for your submission, although you will be given the opportunity to choose your preferred category in the application form.

There are no submission fees, however translation costs may be incurred for works published in languages other than English, which will need to be covered by the applicant.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally available under this link: but it is no more active

Similar Opportunities



Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries