Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Social Science Research 2017

Publish Date: Jan 25, 2017

Deadline: Feb 15, 2017

Call for nominations: 2017 Stein Rokkan Prize

The ISSC, ECPR, and the University of Bergen are delighted to announce that the nomination process for the 2017 Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Social Science Research is now open. Nominations should be made before February 15 2017.

The prize is open to works in comparative studies from all social science disciplines. Nominated works can be an unpublished manuscript of book length, a printed book, or collected works published no more than two years before the award year. Edited volumes are not eligible. The winner receives a diploma and a $5000 award, which is presented during an ISSC Executive Committee or General Assembly meeting, or at a World Social Science Forum.

The work should be a very substantial and original contribution in comparative social science research.

The work should preferably be in English; however a submission written in another language can be nominated as long as it is accompanied by an English summary of the work.

Submissions must include: the author’s name; book title; year of publication (if published); and the name of the person who makes the nomination. This must be sent together with a formal letter in support of the nomination from the head of a research institution, university department or research centre. This letter must include information on the nominee, for example an outline of their work, research interests, etc. and support of their candidacy for this award.

Submissions should be sent by email to Marcia Taylor ( at the ECPR before the deadline of 15 February 2017.

After 15 February 2017 all nominees will be informed and required to forward four hard copies of their manuscript to the Jury for consideration. Please note that electronic versions will not be accepted and submissions unfortunately cannot be returned. Submissions should be received by all four members of the jury by 15 March 2017.

The 2017 prize jury is:

Klaus Goetz, Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich (Chair)

Ingrid Van Biezen, University of Leiden

Per Selle, University of Bergen

Manfred Schmidt, Ruprecht Karls University, Heidelberg

Alberto Martinelli, ISSC President

Announcement of the 2017 prize winner and information about the Award Ceremony

The decision of the Jury will be announced in June 2017. The prize winner will then be invited to attend an Award Ceremony and following reception, which will take place during an ISSC Executive Committee or General Assembly meeting, or at a World Social Science Forum. During the ceremony the prize winner will be expected to give a public lecture on the work for which they have been awarded the prize.

Please forward any further queries to Marcia Taylor ( at the ECPR.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


Social Sciences

Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries