Royal Historical Society Whitfield Book Prize 2017

Publish Date: Mar 15, 2017

Deadline: Dec 31, 2017

Whitfield Book Prize

The Whitfield Book Prize has become one of the most sought after book prizes for early career historians. It was established by the RHS in 1976 at the bequest of Professor Archibald Stenton Whitfield, who was a Fellow of the Society from June 1916 until his death in 1974. The prize offers an annual award of £1,000 for a work on British or Irish history that is the author’s first sole book publication.

The RHS is delighted to announce that the Whitfield Prize for 2016 has been awarded to Aysha Pollnitz for Princely Education in Early Modern Britain (Cambridge University Press, 2015).

The judges commented:

This highly original and beautifully written book explores the liberal education received by royal children in Tudor and Stuart Britain.  Drawing attention to the specificities of nation and context, Princely Education draws on an impressive range of Latin sources, and is yet highly readable and accessible in style.  It succeeds admirably in demonstrating the wider significance of princes’ education by drawing connections between childhood learning and royal policies in later life during a stormy and eventful period.  This rich and deeply-textured book is certain to provoke interest and debate for many years to come.”

How to Enter

To be eligible for the prize the book must:

  • be its author’s first solely written history book;
  • be on a subject within a field of British or Irish history;
  • be an original and scholarly work of historical research by an author who received their doctoral degree from a British or Irish university;
  • have been published in English during the calendar year 2017.

Publishers are invited to nominate their books. (Please note authors cannot submit their own work.)

Closing date for entries: 31 December 2017

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities




Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries