Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water 2017

Publish Date: Dec 26, 2016

Deadline: Dec 31, 2016

About the prize

The Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (PSIPW) is a scientific prize with a focus on innovation. Established in 2002 by HRH Crown Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz, it rewards the efforts made by scientists, inventors and research organizations around the world which contribute to the sustainable availability of potable water and the alleviation of the escalating global problem of water scarcity.
To this end, PSIPW awards a suite of five biennial prizes, covering the entire water research landscape. In this way, PSIPW encourages research to find solutions to the various water-related challenges facing the world today.

During the first two rounds of the Prize (2004) and (2006) PSIPW consisted of five specialized awards:
These were as follows:

  • Surface Water Prize
  • Groundwater Prize
  • Alternative Water Resources Prize
  • Water Management Prize
  • Water Protection Prize

Starting with the Third Award (2008), the "Water Management Prize" and "Water Protection Prize" were merged into a single award called the "Water Management & Protection Prize"

A new prize, The Creativity Prize, was first awarded during the Fourth Award Award (2010), the monetary award for which - at 1 million Saudi riyals (about $266,000) - is double that of the other prizes.
Unlike the Specialized Prizes for which scientist could nominate themselves, individuals nominated to the Creativity Prize must have their nominations put forward by universities and organizations on their behalf.
The Creativity Prize is not restricted to specific topics. Instead, its criteria are defined by general guidelines, allows the Creativity Prize to cover a broad range of water-related subjects.

The Creativity Prize is awarded to work that the Prize Committee deems to be a "breakthrough" in any water-related field. The work might be an invention, a research paper, or a new technology. It can relate to any branch of any water-related discipline. It might contribute to increasing available water resources, or to alleviating scarcity, or to minimizing pollution. It might make a material contribution to water conservation or to effective water management. The work should provide a solution which is useful to society, contribute to development and social upliftment, be practical, environmentally friendly, and cost-effective.


Worth US$ 266,000, the Creativity Prize is by nomination only. Universities, university departments, research institutes, companies, and agencies can nominate individuals and teams of researchers for this Prize. The Creativity prize awarded to an innovator or pioneer for multi-disciplinary scientific work that can rightly be considered a breakthrough in any water-related field. The work might be a body of research, an invention, or a new patented technology.

Specialized Prizes

Each of the four specialized prizes is worth US$ 133,000. Researchers and research teams nominate themselves for these prizes:

  • Covering every aspect of the study and development of surface water resources.
  • Covering every aspect of the study and development of surface water resources.
  • Covering desalination, waste water treatment, and other nontraditional sources of water.
  • Covering the use, management, and protection of water resources.

Creativity Prize

Value: One Million Saudi Riyals ($266,000)
Nominators: universities; university departments; research, institutes; companies; water organizations and agencies
Candidates : individual researchers, research teams
Eligible Works: published research papers, published books, and registered patents within the past 5 years

Specialized Prizes

Value : 1/2 Million Saudi Riyals ($133,000)
Nominators: self nomination
Candidates : individual researchers, research teams
Eligible Works: published research papers, published books, and registered patents within the past 5 years

General conditions

  1. All nominations for the 7th Award of the Prize are to be made online through an electronic application form that is available on the PSIPW website. All required documentation and submitted works will be uploaded by way of the same form. No mail-in applications will be accepted.
  2. In the event that a team of individuals are being nominated, all team members must be named at the time of application and one member must be specified as their representative. Groups of people working on the same project may not be nominated separately. They must be nominated as a group with a single nomination form.
  3. The nominee must be an individual or group of individuals. An organization is not eligible to be a nominee for the Prizes. 
  4. Nominations for the Creativity Prize must be made by a university, institution, or government agency on behalf of individuals or teams of researchers. Individuals may not nominate themselves or others for the Creativity Prize. Nominations for the Specialized Prizes are by direct self-nomination.
  5. The work or works being considered for the nomination must have been completed no more than five (5) years prior to the nomination deadline for the current Prize.
  6. Published research papers, published books, and registered patents may be submitted for consideration. Unpublished works and unregistered patents are ineligible for the Prize.
  7. No more than five (5) distinct works may be submitted. Multiple works should not be collected together and submitted as a single work.
  8. Works will be reviewed and judged in English. If the work being nominated was originally published in a language other than English, it must be submitted in the original language accompanied by a full translation or by a translation of the parts of the work that are to be considered for the Prize. If a partial English translation is provided for a work submitted in another language, then only that portion of the work which is translated will be considered for assessment.
  9. A nominee can only be nominated for one of the five Prizes during the same award.
  10. The work being nominated must not have previously been a recipient of any other international prize. (However, it may have been the recipient of local or regional prizes.)
  11. Members of the Prize committees and their immediate relatives may not be nominated for the Prize.

Nomination deadlines

  1. 20 February 2014: Call for nominations to the Prize and opening of the online application form for the 7th award.
  2. 31 December 2015: Deadline for receiving nominations.
  3. January-September 2016: The evaluation process.
  4. November 2016: The Prize Council announces the winners of the 7th Award.
  5. December 2016: The awards ceremony for the 7th Award. 

For more information click "Further official information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


Water Science

Opportunity Types



Eligible Countries


Event Types