Organization of American Historians Erik Barnouw Award 2017

Publish Date: Jul 07, 2017

Deadline: Jan 08, 2018

Erik Barnouw Award

One or two awards are given annually by the Organization of American Historians in recognition of outstanding programming on television, or in documentary film, concerned with American history, the study of American history, and/or the promotion of American history. The award honors the late Erik Barnouw, Columbia University, a historian of the mass media.

Submissions should be self-contained products even though their content may extend across other media platforms (including podcasts and websites).

Only films and video programs released January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017 are eligible for entry.

The award will be presented at the 2018 OAH Annual Meeting in Sacramento, California, April 12–14.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2018 Erik Barnouw Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions postmarked by January 8, 2018.

Erik Barnouw Award Committee

Steven Deyle (Committee Chair)
University of Houston
Department of History
524 Agnes Arnold Hall
Houston TX 77204-3003

Marian Mathison Desrosiers
52 Deer Jump Hill
West Barnstable MA 02668
[Affiliation: Salve Regina University]

Kimberly Gilmore
Senior Historian & VP, Corporate Outreach
HISTORY®/A+E Networks
235 East 45th Street
New York NY 10017

The final decision will be made by the Erik Barnouw Award Committee by February 2018. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation.

Submission Policy

It is the policy of the OAH to honor those applicants who submit their applications on or before the stated deadline date. Applications that are not postmarked by close of business on the deadline date will not be considered. Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after the postmark deadline for each book award and before January 1 of the following year. Electronic files will not be accepted. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the entry must be sent to each committee member and postmarked no later than January 8 of the year in which the award or prize is given. Bound page proofs not followed with a bound copy of the book will not be considered. If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct time frame, making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities



Heritage Studies


Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries