Mallacoota Arts Council EJ Brady Short Story Competition 2017

Publish Date: Jan 24, 2017

Deadline: Feb 28, 2017

EJ Brady Short story competition 2016-2017

The 2016 – 2017 competition is now open.

The Mallacoota Arts Council is pleased to provide a prize of $2000 for the winning story in the major short story category, the Mallacoota Prize for stories up to 2500 words with the runner up receiving $300.

The Gabo Prize for stories of less than 700 words, has a first prize of $500.

The Betka Prize for humorous short stories of less than 1000 words, has a first prize of $500.

The judges are also able to make an encouragement award of $100 to an entrant who has not previously been paid for a published story.

How to enter

Entries must be submitted by 28 February 2017.

Enter by post
You can download an entry form here. Print out the form, complete all the fields and post it to:

  • EJ Brady Competition
  • Mallacoota Arts Council
  • PO Box 201
  • Mallacoota 3892

Entry fees

Multiple stories can submitted. Entry fees are $12 for each Mallacoota Prize Major Story, $10 for each Betka Prize Humorous Story and $8 for each Gabo Prize story. Payment can be made by a bank transfer or via PayPal or, if you are submitting the entry form by post, payment can be made by cheque.


The 2016-2017 judges include Bruce Pascoe, author of many published works of fiction such as Bloke and non-fiction such as Black Emu and Convincing Ground. He published and edited Australian Short Stories quarterly magazine for 16 years, was winner of the Radio National short story competition (1998) and the Australian Literature Award (1999).

Also judging this year are Lyn Harwood, editor of the Babe is Wise, short story publisher, and co-author of Cape Otway: coast of secrets; Sue Hines, author of short stories for younger readers, Spider Mania, and Fright Night, and young adult fiction, Out of the Shadows, The Plunketts and The Water Boys; and Ketzia Wood.

Winner of the Vogel Literary Award, Jim Sakkas continues to offer his assistance to the judging panel.


The EJ Brady Short story competition is named in honour of local poet Edwin James Brady (1869-1952). The competition recognises Mallacoota’s long-standing literary and artistic traditions. Mr Brady’s accomplishments were rather varied. The Australian Dictionary of Biography lists his occupations as agricultural writer, auto biographer/memoirist, biographer, journalist, newspaper editor, poet, short story writer and socialist!

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities





Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries