Association for Educational Communications & Technology Foundation Internship Program, USA

Publish Date: Dec 31, 2015

Deadline: May 31, 2016

Association for Educational Communications & Technology Foundation Internship Program

Five (6) students (possibly one international instructor for the Jenny Johnson Internship) will be chosen as convention interns for the 2016 convention. Four (4) winners will be designated Cochran interns, one intern will be designated the Strohbehn Intern, and one will be designated the Jenny Johnson International Intern.

Strohbehn and Cochran Interns will receive complimentary convention registration, housing and a $700 cash award. More information follows in the application. These interns are expected to volunteer to serve on an AECT committee of their choice during the year following their internship and to chair at least one session at the Las Vegas 2016 convention.

The Jenny Johnson International Intern will receive complimentary convention registration, housing and a $700 cash award.

All interns will be expected to have arrived at the convention by 3:00 PM Tuesday evening, October 17, 2016 and to stay until Saturday 3:00 PM, October 21, 2016 (Applicants are encouraged to request financial support for transportation and on site expenses from their institutions or state affiliate organizations.)


Each AECT convention intern is expected to participate fully in a coordinated program of activities including a leadership development workshop, exclusive seminars with leaders from the association and the field, the AECT Convention Program Task Force meeting as well as selected association governance events. In addition, each intern will chair at least one concurrent session and perform hands-on tasks (approximately 15 hours of commitment) that provide a behind-the-scenes view of convention operations and contact with many AECT leaders and members. As a follow-up to the convention experience, each intern will select and participate in a committee or other AECT governance activity (if not already doing so) during the year leading up to and including the 2016 convention. A former intern, who is now a member of the AECT Leadership Development Committee, will serve as the program coordinator.


Strohbehn/Cochran Internship:
To qualify for consideration, an applicant must be a full-time student throughout the 2016-2017 academic year in a recognized graduate program in educational communications and technology or a hybrid program, and must be a member of AECT.  (Applicant may join AECT when applying for the award).  However, we particularly encourage graduate students to apply who have attended at least one AECT convention and/or want to take an active part in the leadership of AECT.

Jenny Johnson International Internship:
Applicant be a member of AECT.�(Applicant may join AECT when applying for the award). Applicant is be a non -US citizen graduate student at a non -US institution or a non-US faculty member in the first four years of faculty appointment (faculty can be visiting at a US institution but must be employed by a non-US institution).


To apply for the Internship Program, qualified graduate students must complete the online application form, and must submit three (3) letters of recommendation. 


Electronic submission of all application materials is required. All material, including the letters of recommendation must be received electronically not later than May 31st, 2016. All applicants will be notified of the selection decision by July 1, 2016.

Submit To

All application materials should be submitted via the AECT website.  Other correspondence concerning the intern program can be email, faxed or mailed to:

Tonia Dousay
University of Wyoming
Department of Professional Studies
1000 E. University Ave. Dept. 3374
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: 307-766-3608

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


Communication and Information Sciences


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United States