Diamonstein-Spielvogel Fellowship Program 2021, New York Public Library, USA


April 18, 2021

Diamonstein-Spielvogel Fellowship Program

The New York Public Library is pleased to announce the Diamonstein-Spielvogel Fellowship Program to support advanced research at the Center for Research in the Humanities, located in the Library’s flagship Stephen A. Schwarzman Building. Fellowships are open to Ph.D. candidates, post-Doctoral scholars, and independent researchers studying the humanities and the history, literature, and culture of peoples represented throughout the collections housed at the Schwarzman Building. Projects requiring access to original materials including special collections, photography, prints, and maps will be given preference, but all worthy projects in history and the humanities will be considered. Applicants working in the visual, auditory/performing, and literary arts are welcome to apply. Projects focused on science, technology, psychology, public policy, education, and other areas are eligible, but only if the proposed project is centered on typically humanities-related methodologies.

Established with the generous support of the Diamonstein-Spielvogel Foundation, the Fellowship Program will support five Diamonstein-Spielvogel Fellows (with a total of 26 fellowships awarded over five years) for four concurrent months during the academic year with a stipend of $26,000.

Key Dates:

  • Applications open: March 11, 2021
  • Application deadline: April 18, 2021
  • Applicant notification: May 14, 2021
  • Award period: Fall 2021 or Spring 2022 

Questions about the Diamonstein-Spielvogel Fellowship Program and the application process should be directed to fellowships@nypl.org. Please visit our Research Divisions page for detailed information about the research resources of the Schwarzman Building.


It is the Diamonstein-Spielvogel Foundation and the Library’s intention for the Fellowship Program to include support for under-resourced and underrepresented communities in the humanities. Only U.S. citizens, permanent residents, and foreign nationals who have been in residence in the United States for at least three years as of the application closing date are eligible to apply. 

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

Eligible Countries
Host Country
Publish Date
April 04, 2021
Link To Original