Daniel Pearl Investigative Journalism Initiative's Reporting Fellowship Program 2019


April 15, 2019


Opportunity Cover Image - Daniel Pearl Investigative Journalism Initiative's Reporting Fellowship Program 2019

Moment's Daniel Pearl Investigative Journalism Initiative (DPIJI) allows young journalists to do in-depth reporting on anti-Semitism and other deeply ingrained prejudices around the world.

DPIJI Fellowship Application

Open to journalists ages 22–38

Each cycle, Moment—with the help of an advisory board of journalists—selects one DPIJI Fellow, who receives $5,000 ($2,500 upfront and $2,500 upon publication) to produce a story. Fellows work closely with Moment editors and selected mentors to publish their completed project in Moment as well as partner media outlets.
“The DPIJI Fellowship goes above and beyond other similar reporting grants in the partnership with experienced editors—my editing partners helped take my piece from routine to outstanding. The efforts the Moment staff made to publicize my story helped it get one of the biggest audiences of any story of my career, setting me up to get more great work.”
— Eve Fairbanks, DPIJI Fellow
To apply, please provide the following:
  • Name, date of birth and contact information.
  • Resume.
  • Three stories from a print or digital publication, including at least one long-form story.
  • A brief description of the story you want to investigate and how familiar you are with the issue.
  • A recommendation from a professor or editor about why you are the right person to report this story; and phone numbers and e-mails for three additional references.
  • A detailed reporting plan that lists the 20 or so sources you intend to interview and a timeline for travel, if needed.
  • Fellows are expected to begin work within three months of being accepted; final copy is due within six months. Preference is given to applicants familiar with the issues they propose to investigate.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Eligible Countries
Publish Date
March 31, 2019