Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2018, Belgium

Publish Date: Feb 16, 2018

Deadline: Mar 09, 2018

Lorenzo Natali Media Prize

About Lorenzo Natali

Lorenzo Natali was born in Florence on 2 October 1922. After World War II, his political career blossomed as a member of the National Council of Italy’s Christian Democratic Party and a deputy in the Abruzzi constituency, which he represented in seven successive parliaments. He worked in many government posts, notably as under-secretary to the Prime Minister, and went on to serve as a Minister with various portfolios, including Shipping, Tourism, Culture and Public Works. In November 1976, Italy appointed him to the European Commission. From January 1977 until January 1981, he served as vice-president with responsibilities for enlargement, the environment, nuclear safety, and relations with the European Parliament.

Natali played an important role in the success of EU membership negotiations with Greece, and helped launch the accession process with Spain and Portugal. He also helped implement key measures to combat pollution and improve living conditions across Europe. In January 1981, Natali’s appointment as vice-president was renewed and he was given responsibilities for Mediterranean policy, enlargement and information. Four years later, and until January 1989, he was again reconfirmed, this time with responsibilities for cooperation and development policy in the European Commission led by Jacques Delors.

It was within this portfolio that he established a broad network of relations with the governments and leaders of African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries.

Lorenzo Natali died in Rome on 29 August 1990. The Media Prize that bears his name has subsequently been an integral part of the European Commission’s development policy for more than 20 years.

Lorenzo Natali’s name would become synonymous with the Prize awarded to media professionals who defend the freedom of expression, democracy, human rights and development.

Through this prize the European Commission recognises the dedication of journalists whose work helps to create a better world.

The Natali prize will acknowledge outstanding reporting on development issues and applications are open from 5 February to 9 March for online, print or audio-visual works.

It will reward outstanding reporting on issues such as poverty eradication, and the economic, social and environmental dimensions of sustainable development, as outlined in the new European Consensus for Development.

The Consensus is an ambitious vision for the EU institutions and Member States' development policy, which calls for better coordination and coherence in support of peace, the planet, people, prosperity and partnerships.

Prize categories

The prize has two categories based on age: 21 to 26 years old, and 27 years plus. For each category there will be a winner from each region:

  • Africa;
  • The Arab World ;
  • The Middle East;
  • Asia;
  • The Pacific;
  • Latin America;
  • The Caribbean; 
  • Europe.

A "Grand Winner" will be selected from among the regional winners, and an additional thematic prize will be awarded for work focused on the elimination of violence against women and girls.

Winners will receive their awards at a ceremony during the 2018 European Development Days(link is external) in Brussels this June.

How to apply

Journalists are invited to submit their work(link is external) in any format, i.e. published online, print, radio or TV broadcast.

Who can participate?

The contest will be open to all journalists whose HQ media is based from one of these regions:


2.Arab World and the Middle East

3.Asia and the Pacific

4.Latin America and the Caribbean



Theme 1 - Development: Entries must address issues on development in the developing world. The countries where Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development and Directorate-General for European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations provide development assistance are considered part of the developing world. Please consult the homepage to see in which countries the EU provides development assistance.

Entries under this theme will be classified under one of five regions. The classification will be based on country of residence of the applicant or on its media organisation/media outlet’s headquarters location. Two winners (depending on the age of the applicant) shall be awarded per region; therefore, there will be up to ten winners in total for the Development theme.

Theme 2 - Eliminate violence against women and girls: For 2018 the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize shall award a special prize for submissions related to the elimination of violence against women and girls. Entries for the special prize can be made by journalists from any of the five regions mentioned above.


Submitted entries are subject to length limitation. Text based entries must be maximum 1500 words long. Video and audio entries must be maximum 10 minutes long.


Upon agreement with DG DEVCO, the entries will be assessed on clearly pre-defined criteria. Relevance to development issues, and in particular to the priorities of the New Consensus for Development, will be the main criterion.

The evaluation will be based on the following criteria:

  • Relevance - relevance to the theme; focus and significance 

  • Originality of approach - methodology, innovativeness; 

  • Investigative depth - in-depth investigation, resources put in, accuracy, factual reporting; 

  • Quality of work - writing, structure, language, clearly stated conclusion; 

  • Added value - challenging the status quo, having a big scope etc. 

Pre-selection and selection

The entries will go through a pre-selection phase carried out by renowned journalism schools. The pre-selected entries will be judged by an independent Grand Jury, composed of recognised figures in journalism, development and cooperation. The winners will be announced during an Award ceremony during the European Development Days in 5/6 June 2018 in Brussels. The decision of the jury shall be final and irrevocable.


Plagiarism, which includes the unauthorised use of the language and thoughts of another author and the representation of them as one's own, will result in disqualification. Retrospective discovery of plagiarism will result in revocation of title of winners. 


The European Commission has the right to reproduce and disseminate the awarded works in its own publications, on its website and in other communications and promotional materials, including, but not limited to, publicity material for the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities



Opportunity Types



Eligible Countries


Host Countries


Event Types