The Teutloff Museum Photo Award 2016

Publish Date: Jan 26, 2016

Deadline: Mar 31, 2016

The Teutloff Museum Photo Award 2016 on "The Face Of Freedom"

The Teutloff Museum Photo Award 2016 begins December 01, 2015, and ends March 31, 2016, at 11:59 PM Eastern Standard Time (CET). By submitting an entry, each contestant agrees to the rules of the contest and states that he or she is 18 years old or older.

Who may enter

The contest is open to all photographers, 18 years or older, professional, amateur, student and artist. 
Teutloff Museum employees and Judges are not permitted to enter into the competition.

About the theme "The Face Of Freedom"

"The Face of Freedom" is multi-faceted. It’s not only the portrait itself, but also reflects democratic behaviour and political awareness from the photographer’s point of view. How can the "freedom" or the "lack of freedom" be visualized in images. This contest asks you to show us the many faces of freedom.

How to enter

Please submit photographs by uploading your work on the official facebook page

Each contestant can submit only one still photography. Subsequent entries will be disqualified. Entry is limited to original works that haven’t won prizes in other contests (we define winning as having won a grand prize or 1st, 2nd or 3rd place overall) or that haven’t been submitted to other contests currently underway.

Photos that contain sexually explicit or nude content are ineligible for the contest.
Teutloff Museum has the right to remove those photos from the Facebook page.
Furthermore Teutloff Museum has the right to delete photos which obviously receive paid likes or it reasonably believes that the entrant has attempted to undermine the legitimate operation of the Contest.

Image data files created with any digital devices including smartphones, digital still cameras or high-quality scans of non-digital photographs are accepted. Files submitted may not be larger than 25 MB, the recommended file formats are JPEG/JPG of at least 150 dpi.

By entering, the contestant retains copyright and remains the owner of her/his photograph. The contestant agrees that the submitted image may be used once in a virtual exhibition for honouring the twenty finalist images on the Teutloff Museum website.
There is no commercial interest behind this virtual exhibition.


The first round of judging is based on the most number of likes the photos receive onto the Facebook page until March, 31, 2016. 11:59 PM (CET). The twenty entries that receive the highest overall number of likes will be selected as the ‘Finalists’ and will be announced on the Facebook page. This final round of judging will be conducted by Prof. Dr. Klaus Honnef (art historian, freelance publicist, theorist of artistic photography), Roland Nachtigäller (artistic director of Marta Herford) and Prof. Dr. h.c. Peter Weibel (visual artist, media theorist, director of Center for Art and Media│ZKM, Karlsruhe). 

The final judging is based on creativity, quality, originality and responsiveness to the prompt.
The award decision is solely at the discretion of the ‘Judges’ and is exempt from legal procedures.


The first three prizes will be awarded, as follows

1st Grand Prize      EUR 5,000
2nd Grand Prize     EUR 3,000
3rd Grand Prize      EUR 2,000

One cash prize per person. Winners must sign a Declaration of Eligibility and  a Liability/Publicity Release and will be responsible for paying any taxes they may owe on a prize.

Notification to Winners

The winners will be notified through Facebook message by end of April 2016. If a winner does not respond to the notification attempt within 14 days from the first notification attempt, then such winner may be disqualified and an alternate winner will be selected from among the twenty finalist photos.

Award Ceremony and Exhibition

The three winners will be invited to an award ceremony. A virtual exhibition of the twenty finalist photographs will be shown on the Teutloff Museum website. This Photo Award is in no way sponsored by, endorsed by, administered by, or associated with Facebook. For questions regarding the 2016 photo award, please contact


This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities





Opportunity Types





Eligible Countries


Host Countries


Event Types