The McLellan Poetry Competition 2016

Publish Date: Apr 05, 2016

Deadline: Jun 19, 2016

The McLellan Poetry Prize is awarded by the Arran Theatre and Arts Trust Ltd as part of the annual McLellan Arts Festival. Now in its seventh year, past judges have included Kathleen Jamie, Robert Crawford, Jackie Kay, Peter and Ann Sansom, Michael Laskey and Simon Armitage.

This year’s judge will be David Constantine.

David Constantine has published several volumes of poetry (Elder – 2014 – being the most recent); also two novels (the second, The Life-Writer, in 2015) and four volumes of short stories.

He is an editor and translator of Hölderlin, Goethe, Kleist and Brecht. The film ‘45 Years’ was based on his story ‘In Another Country'. With Helen Constantine he edited Modern Poetry in Translation, 2003-1

The closing date for the 2016 McLellan Poetry Competition is Sunday 19th June.  Enter by post or online

A postal entry form and a copy of the competition rules can be viewed and printed using the button.

To submit your entries on line please complete the form below.


  • The competition is open to anyone except members of the McLellan Festival team. You may enter any number of poems and on any subject.
  • Poems should be of no more than 80 lines (excluding title), in English and your own original work (no translations).
  • Poems must not have won a prize in any other competition or have been published, self-published or accepted for publication in print or online at the time of the closing date. Entrants must notify the organisers promptly of any change in circumstances that occurs after the date of entry.
  • Each poem should be on separate sheet(s) in black Times New Roman size 12 font and in A4 format (one side only). Poems will be judged anonymously and must NOT include the poet’s name or any other distinguishing mark.
  • No alterations may be made once an entry has been received, nor fees refunded.
  • The entry fee is £5 for the first poem and £4 for each subsequent poem submitted in the same file. Payments (in sterling) should be made online with the submission using the form below.
  • Copyright remains with the author but Arran Theatre and Arts Trust reserves the right to publish winning and shortlisted poems for 2 years from the date the results are announced.
  • The judge’s decision is final. Neither he nor the organisers will enter into any correspondence. Entry implies acceptance of all the rules and failure to comply will result in disqualification.
  • Prizewinners will be notified individually before the end of July and invited to read at the award ceremony with David Constantine in Brodick, Isle of Arran on Friday, 26th August 2016. Electronic copies of the winning poems with biographies and photos will be required from the winners. The results of the competition with copies of the poems will be published on the festival website within one week of the award ceremony.
  • The competition organisers reserver the right to change the judge if necessary and not to award prizes if, in the judge's opinion, such action is justified


  • Please make sure to upload your entries as a single file, even if you are submitting more than one poem.
  • Our preferred file formats are Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) or Microsoft Word (.doc or .docx). Alternative formats such as .pages, .wps, .rtf or .odt are also acceptable, however we reserve the right to reject an entry if we cannot open the file as submitted.


This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities



Opportunity Types



Eligible Countries