The Knight-Risser Prize for Western Environmental Journalism 2017

Publish Date: Jan 26, 2017

Deadline: Mar 15, 2017

The Knight-Risser Prize

for Western Environmental Journalism

The Knight-Risser Prize for Western Environmental Journalism recognizes the best environmental reporting on the North American West — from Canada through the United States to Mexico. The annual Knight-Risser Prize Symposium brings journalists, researchers, scholars, and policy-makers together with public audiences to explore new ways to ensure that sophisticated environmental reporting thrives in the West.

Eligibility and How to Enter

The Knight-Risser Prize is given for journalism in any media that best illuminates an environmental issue or story in western Canada, the United States or Mexico. Entries are not limited to journalists from western news organizations.

The Knight-Risser prize places a premium on stories that expose undiscovered or covered-up problems, explain detailed solutions in ways that can be put to use, and help readers understand the broader significance of the issues being covered, beyond the immediate details of the stories at hand.

The North American West, for the purposes of this award, includes the United States west of the Mississippi River, Canada west of Ontario, including Nunavut, and all of Mexico.

Eligibility and Selection

Journalists working for U.S., Canadian or Mexican newspapers, magazines, television, radio, and online sites accessible to the general public are eligible to apply, as are freelancers.

Those whose work appears in publications or programs connected to government agencies, advocacy organizations, or to business or trade organizations with a financial stake in environmental issues, are not eligible.

Entries must be predominantly about an environmental subject occurring in or affecting the North American West, and must have been published, broadcast or posted during the calendar year of the current prize. Series that began in one year and ended in another are eligible but may be entered only once.

The Knight-Risser Prize administrators and steering committee are the final authority for determining whether an entry is eligible. The entry fee of any entrant deemed ineligible will be refunded.

Entry Form and Instructions

By recognizing the highest-quality environmental reporting about the North American West, the Knight-Risser Prize seeks to inspire journalists in all media to bring sophisticated reporting, solid environmental science and compelling storytelling to the public.

We want to reward and showcase reporting that best addresses important Western environmental issues – whether or not it was produced by journalists based in Western news organizations. We invite journalists from traditional news media as well as from startups and nonprofits and citizen journalists and students to submit their finest work.

Submission Instructions

  • There is no entry fee
  • All entries must be submitted online, using URLs or PDFs
    • We are no longer accepting hard copies, CDs or DVDs.
  • Entrants are limited to one submission per author, per year
  • Entries must be accompanied by a letter of up to two pages that:
    • Summarizes the entry
    • Describes resources that went into reporting it, and if applicable any innovative methods employed
    • Describes the impact of the story
    • Describes any obstacles the reporters faced
    • Briefly summarizes stories not included with the entry if entries are part of a larger series
  • Proof of publication and date: All elements of the story must have been published, broadcast or posted online with an identifiable dateline
  • Corrections or clarifications: Any challenge to the accuracy or fairness of the story, such as letters, corrections, retractions and responses by the news organization, must be included
  • Translation: Non-English-language entries must be accompanied by a complete translation or transcript in English.

Deadline: Entries must be received by 11:59pm Pacific Time on Wednesday, March 15, 2017.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities




Opportunity Types



Eligible Countries