Sundance Documentary Fund Grants for International Filmmakers


August 03, 2015

The Sundance Documentary Fund provides grants to filmmakers worldwide for projects that display: artful film language, effective storytelling, originality and feasibility, contemporary cultural relevance, and potential to reach and connect with its intended audience. Preference is given to projects that convey clear story structure, higher stakes and contemporary relevance, forward going action or questions, demonstrated access to subjects, and quality use of film craft.

The Sundance Documentary Fund provides strategic financial support to cinematic, feature documentaries from independent filmmakers globally. We provide $1M-$2M in non-recoupable financing annually across all stages of development, production, post-production, and strategic audience engagement.

Categories of granting

  • Development (up to $20,000):There is no reel required with an application, but clips, teasers, trailers, or images are highly encouraged. A previous work sample is required.
  • Production/Post-Production (up to $50,000): Production/post-production grants provide funds to projects offering 10+ minutes of edited material for the project being proposed. The reel should convey the narrative and aesthetic approach for the final film. A previous sample work must also be included with the application.
  • Audience Engagement (up to $20,000):Audience Engagement grants provide previously granted projects funding for strategic audience and community engagement campaigns.
  • Additional Opportunities by Nomination


  • US & International Filmmakers. 
  • Maximum two submission attempts per project.  (Sundance Documentary Film Program reserves the right to solicit projects to apply)

What Will I Need to Complete My Application?

  • Online Application Form
  • Written Proposal
  • Visual Samples
    • Completed Previous Directing Sample
    • Work-In-Progress Sample (10+ minutes for Production/Post Production)

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Eligible Countries
Publish Date
April 06, 2015