University of Maryland - Baltimore County Logo

University of Maryland - Baltimore County

The University of Maryland, Baltimore County (often referred to as UMBC) is a public research university in Baltimore County, Maryland. With a fall 2017 enrollment of 13,662 students, 48 undergraduate majors, over 60 graduate programs (36 master, 24 doctoral, and 17 graduate certificate programs) and the first university research park in Maryland.

Established as a part of the University of Maryland System in 1966, the university became the first public collegiate institution in Maryland to be inclusive to all races. UMBC has the fourth highest enrollment of the University System of Maryland, specializing in natural sciences and engineering, as well as programs in the liberal arts and social sciences. Athletically, the UMBC Retrievers have 19 NCAA Division I teams that participate in the America East Conference.




+1 410-455-1000


1000 Hilltop Cir, Baltimore, MD 21250, USA