Sharif University of Technology Logo

Sharif University of Technology

Sharif University of Technology is a public research university in Tehran, Iran and is widely considered to be the nation's leading institution for engineering and physical science disciplines. The international campus of the university is located in Kish Island, Persian Gulf.

Established in 1966 under the reign of Mohammad Reza Shah Pahlavi, it was formerly named the Aryamehr University of Technology (Persian: دانشگاه صنعتی آریامهر‎) and for a short period after the 1979 revolution, the university was called Tehran University of Technology. Following the revolution the university was named after Majid Sharif Vaghefi, who was one of the People's Mujahedin of Iran group's leaders who was killed by the members of a splinter group (later renamed to Peykar Organization) who had recently converted from Islam to Marxism and were adamant to forcefully change the Mujahedin's organization's ideology to Marxism.




+98 (21) 66 161


Sharif University of Technology ,.Azadi Ave Tehran, Iran