Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics Logo

Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics

The Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics is a research center at Harvard University. It seeks "to advance teaching and research on ethical issues in public life. It is named for Edmond J. Safra and has been supported by Lily Safra and the Edmond J. Safra Foundation. The Center for Ethics was the first Interfaculty Initiative at Harvard University.

The Center has four categories of Fellowships: Undergraduate Fellows, directed by Arthur Applbaum; Graduate Fellows, co-directed by Mathias Risse and Meira Levinson; Fellows-in-Residence; and Ethics Pedagogy Fellows, directed by Christopher Robichaud. In 2016, the Center entered into a partnership with the Berggruen Institute's Philosophy and Culture Center, as a partner institution for the Berggruen Fellowship Program. The Philosophy and Culture Center supports three Berggruen Fellows each year. Berggruen Fellows engage in scholarship of broad social and political importance from cross-cultural perspectives, and demonstrate a commitment to the public dissemination of their ideas.

Founded by Dennis Thompson as the Program in Ethics and the Professions in 1986, the Center has supported the work of more than 500 fellows and visiting scholars, many of whom have spent a year or more at the Center. They include professors, graduate students, and undergraduates, journalists, physicians, lawyers, psychologists from many educational institutions and governments in the United States and throughout the world.








Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics Harvard University 124 Mount Auburn Street Suite 520N Cambridge, MA 02138