Knight Foundation HBCU Digital Media Fellowship 2017, USA

Publish Date: Jun 30, 2017

Deadline: Jul 20, 2017

HBCU Digital Media Fellowship

Up to five students from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) will receive hands-on experience during the three-day Online News Association Conference, Oct. 5-7 in Washington, D.C., as part of the HBCU Digital Media Fellowship. The program also gives them high-profile exposure and advanced practical knowledge of emerging technologies, tools and approaches to reporting and distributing news online.

Supported for the fourth year by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, each fellow will receive an all-expenses-paid trip to the conference, as well as a free one-year ONA membership. Over the three days, fellows will work closely with lead mentor Michael Grant, Creative Director, San Francisco Business Times and 2017-18 John S. Knight Fellow at Stanford University, and Michelle Johnson, chair of the ONA Student Newsroom and Innovation Lab and Associate Professor of Practice, Multimedia Journalism at Boston University, to produce multimedia packages for the conference and be immersed in intensive digital journalism training.

The fellowship is centered on a highly-engaged conference experience for students, with a focus on the evolving nature of online journalism. Fellows are embedded in the Student Newsroom and Innovation Lab, where students work with mentors to produce reporting using the latest in digital technology. Fellows also participate in group workshops led by industry leaders that range from learning about emerging media trends to hands-on training in current storytelling tools and techniques. Schedules are tailored to students’ particular career interests, and they have time to attend conference sessions and networking events, where they connect with professional digital journalism innovators.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities




Opportunity Types



Eligible Countries



Host Countries

United States

United States