Gita Chaudhuri Prize 2017 for the Best Book in Rural Women's History

Publish Date: Oct 31, 2016

Deadline: Jan 06, 2017

Inviting Applications for the 2017 Chaudhuri Prize

The Western Association of Women Historians (WAWH) is accepting applications for the 2017 Gita Chaudhuri Prize for the BEST BOOK IN RURAL WOMEN'S HISTORY published by a WAWH member during the 3-year period from 2014 through 2016. The winning author will receive $1,000.

Entries must be single-authored monographs based on original research, and they can focus on any time period or location in the world. They must be written in English.


Applicants must submit an application form, a copy of their book to each of the three prize committee members (Katherine Jellison, Estelle Freedman, and Grey Osterud), and a statement of their current membership in WAWH. The deadline for submissions is January 6, 2017.

If you wish to request an application form or have any questions, please contact Chaudhuri Prize Committee Chairwoman Katherine Jellison at

For more information click "Further official information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities



Opportunity Types



Eligible Countries


Event Types