Eleventh Annual Solas Awards, Best Travel Writing, Competition, 2016

Publish Date: Aug 19, 2016

Deadline: Sep 21, 2016

Tenth Annual Solas Awards Winners

The editors of Travelers’ Tales are pleased to announce the winners of the Tenth Annual Solas Awards for Best Travel Story of the Year. Grand Prize winner Amy Butcher collected $1,000 for "Flight Behavior," her lyrical account of migrations both of Sandhill cranes and people and what they reveal about life in North America. Mario Kaiser won the silver award and $750 for “Love and Lies in Iran,” his illuminating tale of spending his honeymoon under the watchful eyes of the ayatollahs. Glenda Reed and Lance Mason shared the bronze award and $500, Glenda for her moving tale about securing her confidence on a trans-Pacific sailing journey in "The Good Captain," and Lance for his probing look at the corruption of power in southern Africa in "The Train to Harare."

More than 200 entries in 21 categories kept the judges busy. The stories this year were especially strong, making decisions in all categories very difficult. As usual, not every story that deserved an award received one. Here’s the complete list of winners. Winning stories will be posted on the Great Stories page and many will appear in future Travelers’ Tales books.

Eleventh Annual Solas Awards Open for Entries

Deadline for the Eleventh Annual Solas Awards is September 21, 2016. The competition is year-round, however, so submit your stories any time.

Travelers’ Tales Sponsors Solas Awards

Award-winning publisher Travelers’ Tales is the sponsor of The Solas Awards, an annual competition to honor excellence in travel writing.

Extraordinary stories about travel and the human spirit have been the cornerstones of our books since 1993. With the Solas Awards we honor writers whose work inspires others to explore. We’re looking for the best stories about travel and the world funny, illuminating, adventurous, uplifting, scary, inspiring, poignant stories that reflect the unique alchemy that occurs when you enter unfamiliar territory and begin to see the world differently as a result. We hope these awards will be a catalyst for those who love to leave home and tell others about it.

Dates: You can enter year-round. The current competition closes September 21, 2016.

Win Cash and Publication
Many Categories for True Stories bestv9

Grand Prize for Best Travel Story of the Year:

$1,000 Gold
$750 Silver
$500 Bronze

Awards in Categories:

Bragging rights for Gold, Silver, and Bronze (no cash awards in categories).

Enter one or more categories and you’re automatically entered for the Grand Prize.

For more information click "Further official information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities



Opportunity Types



Eligible Countries


Event Types