AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards Contest 2017

Publish Date: May 19, 2017

Deadline: Aug 01, 2017


The AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards Contest (the “Contest”) begins on May 1, 2017 at 12:01:00 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time and the period for entering the Contest ends on August 1, 2017 at 11:59 p.m. U.S. Pacific Daylight Time (the “Entry Period”). By participating in the Contest, each entrant unconditionally accepts and agrees to comply with and abide by these Contest Rules and the decisions of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (“AAAS”) and its independent judging committees, which shall be final and binding in all respects. As outlined in more detail below, there will be two awards for each category, a Gold award worth $5,000 and a Silver award worth $3,500. One winner for each award in each category will also receive reasonable travel expenses to attend an awards ceremony in February 2018 at the AAAS Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas.

Individual Eligibility:

Only individuals over the age of eighteen (18) years as of August 1, 2016 who are residing and located in a jurisdiction where the contest is lawful are eligible to enter. Employees of AAAS or The Kavli Foundation, or their affiliates, subsidiaries, suppliers, vendors and/or service providers, and their immediate family members or persons living in the same household are not eligible. The Contest is void where prohibited. Individual winners of the 2016 awards are not eligible, and individuals who have won a total of three times are no longer eligible.

Eligible Publications:

The contest year is July 16, 2016 through July 15, 2017. Submitted publications (“Entries”) must have been originally published, broadcast, or posted online during the contest year. The awards are open to journalists doing work for independent news organizations around the globe. Print articles must be readily accessible to the public by subscription or newsstand sales. The following are not eligible for the AAAS awards: items exclusively concerning health or medical treatment (see the online FAQ for further discussion); items published originally in AAAS publications or produced by AAAS; and items authored by employees of AAAS or The Kavli Foundation.


As noted above, all entries must be received during the Entry Period to be eligible.AAAS is not responsible for late, lost, or misdirected entries that are not received in a timely manner, or are lost due to computer or electronic malfunction or other error, or due to inaccessibility of the Internet or portions thereof.

Prizes are not transferable and not assignable. Winners shall be solely responsible for all taxes and fees or costs associated with any prize, including but not limited to any federal or state or other income tax, ground transportation (except as expressly stated above), meals (except as expressly stated above), gratuities, personal expenses and any other expenses not expressly specified herein. International winners of the award shall solely be responsible for obtaining any passports or other travel documents that may be required

Name of Winner: For the name of winners, refer to or send, within six months from the end of the Entry Period, a self-addressed, stamped envelope to: SJA Contest Administrator, AAAS Office of Public Programs, 1200 New York Avenue NW, Washington DC 20005. Washington and Vermont residents may omit return postage.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities




Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries