Yannis Behrakis International Photojournalism Award 2021


April 19, 2021


Yannis Behrakis International Photojournalism Award

Athens Photo World, following the expressed wishes of Yannis Behrakis and with the donation of Stavros Niarchos Foundation, contributes to the promotion, support and encouragement of the work of photographers and photojournalists, so that they can fulfil their vision and continue to produce their work. For the third consecutive year, the 15,000€ Yannis Behrakis International Photojournalism Award will be awarded to a full-length photojournalism or documentary body of work created after January 2018. The award winning photographic project will be exhibited during Athens Photo World 2022 as a solo exhibition of the photographer. A new judging committee will be appointed every year, under the permanent chairmanship of Elisavet Saridou Behrakis. For 2021 the members of the committee are Steve Crisp, Jerome Delay and Kelli Grant. Interested parties are requested to submit a portfolio of up to 24 photographs, explanatory text and a brief resume. The winner of the Yannis Behrakis Award for 2021 will be announced by Elisavet Saridou Behrakis and Fabio Bucciarelli, winner of the 2020 YBIPA Award, at the closing event of APW 2021 on May 30 at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center. Participation in the Yannis Behrakis International Photojournalism Award contest is free.


Call for entries open
1 January 2021
Submission deadline
19 April 2021
Finalists Announcement
20 May 2021
Winner announcement
30 May 2021
For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

Eligible Countries
Event Type
Publish Date
March 07, 2021
Link To Original