Data Journalism Awards 2019, Lisbon, Portugal

Publish Date: Jan 18, 2019

Deadline: Apr 07, 2019






The Data Journalism Awards are the first international awards recognising outstanding work in the field of data journalism worldwide.

Started in 2012, the competition is organised by the Global Editors Network, with support from the Google News Lab, the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, and in partnership with Chartbeat and Microsoft. Previous winning organisations include BuzzFeed, Quartz, The New York Times, The Guardian, ProPublica, La Nación as well as smaller organisations such as Ojo Publico, Civio Foundation and Convoca.

Simon Rogers, Data Editor at Google News Lab, is the director of the competition which takes place under the presidency of Reginald Chua, Executive Editor, Editorial Operations, Data and Innovation at Thomson Reuters. Marianne Bouchart, founder and director of HEI-DA, is the manager of the competition.

Submissions for the 2019 edition are now open and data journalism teams from around the world can apply via this form (you’ll need to be logged in on the Data Journalism Community to access the form, to login or register, go here).

This year’s prize? An all-expenses-covered trip to Athens, Greece, and the GEN Summit + Data Journalism Awards 2019 ceremony, taking place in June 2019.

Who is eligible for an award?

The Data Journalism Awards honors outstanding work in the field of data journalism worldwide.

The awards celebrate the best in data-driven investigations, stories, websites, visualizations, news applications and projects that shed light on topics of public interest.  They also recognize individuals and teams that have done exceptional work in the field.

News organizations, media companies, individuals and freelance journalists are all eligible to enter the Data Journalism Awards. Works that are the result of a collaboration between news organisations may also be submitted, provided they serve a journalistic purpose.

However, work produced by journalists in partnership with government agencies, businesses or trade organisations with a stake – financial or otherwise – in the issue at hand are not eligible. Similarly, business data visualisations or projects produced for branding purposes are not eligible.

Members of the jury or the pre-jury will be required to recuse themselves from judging any category where there is an entry that includes work from an organization they are involved with, or if it includes work that involved significant input from them.

The Data Journalism Awards administrators have the final authority to determine whether an entry is eligible or not.

Competition Rules

Entries to the 2019 competition can be submitted until 7 April 2019 at 23:59 GMT. All work must have been published or aired between 26 March 2018 and 7 April 2019.

The finalists shortlisted for awards will be announced in May 2019, and the winning projects will be announced at the 2019 ceremony and gala dinner during the GEN Summit 2019.

All submission forms must be filled in English. Entries in languages other than English can be accepted provided that they are accompanied by thorough explanations of the work in English and a translation if possible. Words included in graphics, databases and web applications must also be translated. Radio material must be transcribed in English and video material must contain English subtitles. If a work originally published in a language other than English passes the pre-jury selection stage, applicants may be asked to provide additional information and translations.

Entries may have been published on any other media platform: online, radio, audio, broadcast, print or a combination of platforms.

Entries may include a single piece of work or a series of works.  In some categories, there is a limit on the number of examples of work that can be entered.

Applicants can submit multiple entries, but only one entry per category.

The jury and pre-jury may decide to move entries from a category if they believe it is more suited to a different category.

There are no submission fees.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities




Opportunity Types



Eligible Countries


Host Countries