University of Graz Logo

University of Graz

The second oldest university in Austria was founded in 1585 by Archduke Charles II of Inner Austria, initially with just two faculties, those of philosophy and theology in a Jesuit college; in 1778, the faculty of law was established. After the college had been turned into a lyceum, Emperor Francis I re-established the institution as Karl Franzens University in 1827, to which in 1863 a faculty of medicine was added. Today’s campus dates back to 1870.

The University of Graz, which was founded in 1585, is Austria's second oldest university and one of the largest in the country. Many excellent scientists, amongst them six Nobel laureates, have taught and researched here.

With 32,500 students and 4,300 employees the University of Graz contributes significantly to the vibrating life of the Styrian capital. Its location in Europe encourages a lively scientific, economic and cultural exchange with South-East Europe, from which not only the city benefits, but also its educational institutions.




+43 (0) 316 380-0