Pantheon-Sorbonne University Logo

Pantheon-Sorbonne University

Pantheon-Sorbonne University , also known as Paris 1, is a multidisciplinary public research university in Paris, France.

It was established in 1971 by Professors François Luchaire (Law), Henri Bartoli (Economy) and Hélène Ahrweiler (Humanities) from two faculties of the historical University of Paris — colloquially referred to as the Sorbonne — after the French May of 1968, which resulted in the division of one of the world's oldest academic institution. The double origin of the founders – Luchaire and Bartoli from the Faculty of Law and Economics and Ahrweiler from the Faculty of Letters – is now found in the name of the university: Panthéon for law and Economics, Sorbonne for humanities.

Pantheon-Sorbonne is multidisciplinary, and has three main domains: Economic and Management Sciences, Human Sciences, and Legal and Political Sciences; comprising several subjects such as: Economics, Law, Philosophy, Geography, Humanities, Cinema, Plastic arts, Art history, Political science, Mathematics, Management, and Social sciences.




01 44 07 80 00


12 Place du Panthéon, 75231 Paris, France